Stopping Negative Self-Talk

by Dr. Liz, November 21, 2021

mortarboards tossed in the air
clip art of thought bubble saying I'm not good enough

I’m a failure. I’m a joke. I’m so stupid. I’m not good at anything. This negative self-talk has many names – the inner critic, the judge, the gremlin, self-criticism – but whatever you call it, it’s an inner voice that “judges you, doubts you, belittles you, and constantly tells you that you are not good enough” (Vilhauer, 2016). And trash-talking yourself is stressful, can squelch your self-confidence, and can get in the way of your success.

The ADHD Brain and Negativity

diagram of brain showing pre-fontal cortexFor someone with ADHD, the prefrontal cortex of the brain is unable to regulate the thoughts and feelings that stream in and out. They tend to rely on emotions to make decisions. This means they tend to be hard on themselves and are quick to judge themselves negatively, which can lead to feelings of guilt and shame.

Origins of Negative Self-Talk

Negative feelings about ourselves start when we are children. They can come from parents, caregivers, family members, or influential adults like teachers or coaches. If a child with ADHD is constantly told to sit still, be quiet, try harder, or to stop being lazy, for example, the feelings of being “bad,” “wrong,” or “less than” become internalized and self-esteem can plummet. If an adolescent is constantly compared to a sibling and comes up short, struggles under a demanding teacher, or has negative experiences in personal relationships, these experiences can contribute to negative self-talk that mimics all those message received from others (Golden, 2019). As we age, this negative self-talk can encourage perfectionism, which results in more negative self-talk when perceived perfection is never attained.

Consequences of Negative Self-Talk